Cabinet Positions

The Jones Executive Cabinet is the entirely student-run and student-elected system of college governance. The purpose of Cabinet is to provide an atmosphere of social and intellectual growth in the college, plan college activities, and make sure that Jones runs smoothly. The Cabinet is legislated by the Jones Constitution, and elections are held in the spring. Cabinet members always welcome fellow students’ feedback on anything related to Jones or Rice, so be sure to get to know them!

Have any feedback for Cabinet? Use this form to submit your ideas/suggestions/concerns/etc. to help improve Jones!


Executive Cabinet 2017-2018

Position Description Name E-mail
President Represent Jones at all campus-wide functions, oversee 8 appointed positions, preside over all college meetings Scotty Stevens
Internal Vice President Oversee 9 appointed positions, coordinate Awards Night, Birthday Bash, Floor Olympics, and Talent Show Ranjini Nagaraj
External Vice President Coordinate Associates' Nights, organize other Associates and alumni events, appoint & chair Associates Committee Payton Carroll
Treasurer Manage the Jones budget, maintain financial records Kyle Bartsch
Chief Justice Enforce the Alcohol Policy and Code of Conduct, appoint Associate Justices, preside over College Court cases Daisy Gray
Secretaries Manage the e-mail listserv, record & distribute Cabinet meeting minutes Chidera Ezuma-Igwe
Sai Lammata
Historians Maintain Jones picture archive and historical records, submit items to be preserved to Rice's Woodson Research Center Amy Griffiths
Terrence Liu

Other Roles in Jones

There are many other ways for Jonesians to contribute to life in the college. Some positions are elected, and the rest are appointed by the President, Vice President, and other officers, usually in the spring.


Elected Positions 2017-2018

Position Description Name E-mail
Honor Council Rep Represent Jones in the Honor Council and participate in Honor Council cases Siddharth Gorantla
O-Week Coordinators Spend six months preparing for new students' arrival and planning both Jones and Rice O-Week events Dorian Korein
Josh Perez
Evan Toler
RPC Rep Coordinate Rice Program Council events and serve as a liaison between RPC and the college Hannah Park
Room Draw Coordinators Govern procedures for students choosing on-campus rooms each spring Alex Rovner
Robert Williamson
SA Senator Represent Jones in the Student Association, serve as a non-voting member of Cabinet Daniel Koh
Social Coordinators Organize all levels of social events at Jones and ensure they follow campus-wide policies Hannah Park
Carlos Arroya
Marcus Manca
U-Court Rep Serve as a liaison between University Court and the college Sam Morimoto
Floor Rep Elected in the first few weeks of each semester to represent each floor on the Cabinet 2S: Logan Rance
3S: Andrew Abikhaled
4S: Naomi Hausman
2N: Adam Subel
3N: Daphne Flores
4N: Maxim Karoubi
OC: Rohan Palanki

Appointed Positions 2017-2018 (President)

Position Description Name
Beer Bike Coordinator Plan and run Willy Week and Beer Bike every year Justin Bernard
Deepika Narayanan
Dorian Korein
Kris Westgaard
Adrian Moga
Chief of Staff Meets regularly with all appointed positions to provide guidance and feedback; creates Jones newsletter Sam Morimoto
Parliamentarian Maintain the Jones Constitution, count votes, and serve as a non-voting member of Cabinet Shami Mosley
College Night Organize and plan a day of recreation and celebration of Jones college each semester Laney Brown
Annie Turney
Leslie Loredo
Ali Miller
Katy Gehring
Intercollegiate Rep Jones liason for events between residential colleges Shami Mosley
Food Rep Jones’s voice to communicate food preferences and issues to the North and South Serveries Rabea Tzenetos

Appointed Positions 2017-2018 (Internal Vice President)

Position Description Name
Ambiance Coordinators Plan and execute improvement projects for common spaces around Jones College Katy Gehring
Ali Miller

Elections Coordinators Run the speeches, voting process, and announcements of the Jones elections Sreesh Shenoy
Ani Kunaparju
Sid Gorantla
Merchandise Coordinators Purchase and distribute Jones-themed merchandise for the college Kira Luscher
Aster O'Leary
Beril Uzman
Phoebe Cox

PR Director Publicize both Jones and campus-wide events, including the birthdays of all Jonesians Laney Brown
Katy Gehring
Special Services Coordinators Maintain electronic equipment around Jones Andy Corbato
Will Yarinsky
Sports Coordinator Foster Jones participation in intramural and college sports Kris Westgaard
Bailey Tulloch
Theater Coordinator Facilitate Jones theater productions Justin Bernard

Appointed Positions 2017-2018 (External Vice President)

Position Description Name
Community Involvement Coordinators Coordinate a day of community service for the college each semester Maddie O'Brien
Maheen Khizar
Cultural Coordinators Organize events that broaden the cultural experiences of Jonesians

Mark Williams LaForest
Jacqueline Locarno
Naod Araya
Azzy Hinton
Webmagister Maintain the information and aesthetics of the Jones website Alexis Williams

Other Positions 2015-2016

Position Description Name
IT Ambassador Assist with any questions regarding technology at the college, including printing and wifi
Student Maintenance Representative Ensure college facilities are well maintained and loft beds Josh Perez
Senior Events Committee Hold senior class events throughout the year Brett Patterson
Reilly Brooks
Alex Quam
Austin Bae
Mikey Foster
Isabel Milton